Why hadn’t George Formby (1904 – 1961) gone home?

3 10 2015

George Formby‘s lost soul appeared to me last week, wandering on a misty cobbled street. George was a singer-songwriter and comedian who became known to a worldwide audience through his films of the 1930s and 1940s.

“About time young lady!” he moaned, “I’ve been waiting long enough!”  What could he mean? Ironically, the penny dropped. On a recent amble along Cleethorpes’ Promenade with Mum we came across three gorgeous boy triplets being strapped into a mini fire engine by their proud parents and once they ‘dropped the penny into the slot’ we moved on, but not before I heard the mother ask ‘Is George strapped in properly?‘…Back home, a close relative was researching baby names and was looking under Kings…And naturally George came up again.  I also mentioned to her that my husband wanted our daughter, if she’d been a boy of course, to be named George but back in 1983 it had reminded me of an elderly gentleman wearing bicycle clips! ~  Oh how fashions change, as it is obviously a very popular boys’ name once again! In other words, George Formby’s spirit had become attracted to me on yet another like-attracts-like basis.

Back to that night, when the Law of Attraction had brought this genius of a British entertainer to my bedside, he grinned widely, stuck his nose skyward and took off into the light!  The best was yet to come as within seconds I saw him receiving a tumultuous welcome from hoards of fans on the other side ~ including, YES, including my own dear father who had passed only 6 months ago!  The feeling was of such overwhelming love that I could hardly contain it.  I overflowed with every emotion possible ~ amazement, gratitude, peace, total Oneness with the universe ~ It was almost too much to bear in its entirety….and imagine how I then felt when not only George started to play his ukulele but EVERYONE joined in playing and sang to ME!!! ~ Oh Boy! …

“I was leaning on a lamp post at the corner of the street when a certain little lady walked by…Oh me; oh MY…”  It was George’s way of thanking me for lighting the way home.  What was even more poignant was that when he was alive my Dad had asked me to find out the name of his guardian angel, who described him (my Dad) as a ‘lamp lighter’! ❤

It had been a while since I had glimpsed Heaven.  The whole crowd was floating on a white cloud of love, enveloped behind by a beautiful wild flower meadow.  It pulled at my own soul.  Imagine being dragged from your Home and back down to earth because there was so much work you had promised to do.  It sure was hard, especially as they sang this song to me as a Tribute.  I was so touched and grateful!  But then it was time to ask George a question.  He put down his Ukulele and pre-empting my question said ‘I was waiting for me medals!!…‘  I was about to ask why he stayed too long after his death (over 3 months, meaning the route home had become too faint to follow)

What do you mean?” I asked...

“I thought they would give me more medals!”  That was it.  The curtain was closed and I was left to do some research on a man whose name was so familiar but all I knew was that he was a singer who played the ukulele and perhaps an actor?

Research taken from  http://georgeformby.org/biography/war-years/ now made sense of his words…

‘In all, he and Beryl (his wife) are estimated to have personally entertained over 3 million troops. He received a modest (and surely inadequate) OBE for his heroic efforts. Beryl, shockingly, received nothing…. his wartime work with Beryl, both with the troops abroad and civilians at home that should ensure his place as one of the greatest (and certainly the bravest) British entertainers of all time’

What an honour it was!

  

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

The Proof Angel

Documents Polished Here

myinnervoice Blog

I listen to my inner voice.

marymeems

all things vintage

Inspiritual Reflections

A space for spiritual evolution and transformation

beautydiva

beauty talk, news & reviews

Cupcakes and Angels

Living life from the heart ☮❤☀

What if Spirits could Blog?

My adventures with the world of earthbound spirits

One World Rising

People are like stained-glass windows. They sparkle and shine when the sun is out, but when the darkness sets in, their true beauty is revealed only if there is a light from within. — Elizabeth Kubler Ross

Spirit Adventures with Wendy Blease

Wendys Blogs, Rotherham Reiki & Spirit Connex

Parga Hellas

The greek perle

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

